top of page

Attaching your leadrope as reins on a rope halter

This will be a short picture tutorial on how I tie my leadrope to my rope halter when I ride in one.

This was a question on a forum this evening and I thought I would post to the log as well.

With your halter on your horse, clip your leadrope to your halter.

Next, adjust your reins to the length you want and make a loop around your halter, above the knot going to the loop for your leadrope.

Then make another loop going down. If your leadrope has a lot of excess you may need to make more than one loop.

Then put the tail end of your leadrope between the left and right sections of the halter so the tail is above your first loop.

Then thread the tail underneath your loops. If you end up with a little excess like this you can wiggle your loops to shorten it up, or as I said make more loops before this. However for simplicity I only made two loops to show the knot.

This knot works well because it will give some finesse to riding in a halter. As you pick up on the reins, the knot will lift, signaling your horse before you make contact with his face.

bottom of page